Risks allow you to define project hazards which can be used to direct your testing effort. You can start defining requirements by clicking Define > Risks in the header.
Using risks is slightly less common than using requirements to assert testing coverage. However, they can greatly improve your testing efficiency and project success rate.
The risks overview provides you with a list of defined risks for the active project. The name, risk classification, and linked test cases are shown for each risk. The filter icon to the left allows you to open the filters sidebar. You can use the search field next to the filter icon to find a risk matching your search parameters. The cog button to the right enables you to edit what columns are shown in the risk overview.
You can use filters to find specific requirements matching your search parameters.
The filters sidebar on the left provides the following:
The risk classification
Show risks marked with a specific tag
Show risks that have been updated in a specific time frame
- Trashed Risks
Show only the trashed risks
You can use the cog button on the top right of the filters to show or hide certain filter fields. Choose Reset to deactivate all set filters.
Add a Risk
You can add a risk by selecting Add Risk on the top right of the risks overview page.
A popup will appear allowing you to specify the risk properties.
A risk contains the following fields:
- Classification (optional)
The risk classification.
- Name (required)
A short, clear identification of the risk.
- Description (optional)
A more descriptive text on your specified risk.
- Tags (optional)
The tag(s) linked to the risk.
Press Save to add the new risk or Cancel to go back to the risks overview page.
Link a Risk to a Test Case
TestMonitor allows you to link your risks to test cases. This is done in the test case detail page. Go to the test case detail page by
- Clicking Design in the header. This leads you to the test suites overview.
- Selecting the name of the test suite where the test case is part of, or by clicking the 'arrow' button to the left of it.
- Selecting the name of the test case you want to assign the requirement to, or by clicking the 'arrow' button to its left.
Now you're in the test case detail page. Select the Risks tab. When you move your cursor over the field under the tab, a pencil is shown. Select the particular field and a pop-up is shown where you can select risks to link them to the test case.
Press the Save button, to save the changes you've made or ‘cancel’ to discard them.
Go to the risk detail page by either selecting the name of the risk or the 'arrow' button to the right of the risk. The risk detail page shows all risk properties, linked test cases and a full audit trail.
The Details block contains every property of a risk, including the classification and tags.
- Test Cases
All linked test cases are shown on the Test Cases tab. Select the Code of the test case or the 'arrow' button to the right of the test case to view the test case details.
All activities for each object in TestMonitor are logged. You can view these activities for this risk under the Activities tab.
Update a Risk
You can edit a risk by opening its detail page. When you move your cursor over a detail, for example the name of the risk, a pencil is shown. Select the particular field and you'll be able to edit the text. Press the 'save' button, to save the changes you've made or ‘cancel’ to discard them.
Delete a Risk
You can delete a risk by opening its detail page and selecting the three dots … in the top right corner. Select delete and a confirmation box will be shown. Select Delete again to delete the risk.
Update Multiple Risks
TestMonitor allows you to batch-edit risks. In the risks overview, move your cursor over a risk and tick the checkbox on the left. Select additional risks or select them all by ticking the checkbox in the table header. Next, click on the green multi-select button in the toolbar and select a batch action.
The batch-edit function for risks offers the following actions:
You can update the Classification and or Tags for multiple risks at once. When you select Update a pop-up appears where you can choose or change the Classification and Tags for all selected risks.
Choose Delete and you can delete all the selected risks from your project.
Restore Trashed Risks
Go to the risks overview page and set the filter Trashed Risks to display all trashed risks. You can restore a trashed risk by selecting the 'restore' button at the right of the risk.
A confirmation box will be shown. Select Restore and the risk is available in your risks overview again.